Hello again

Yesterday marked the 1 year anniversary of February 20th, 2014, the day when more people were killed on Maidan in Kiev than any before (or since). This day stands as one of the most vivid memories of my life. I remember very specific details of where I was that day, conversations I had, the feeling in the air that we never knew what would happen in the next moment, and the quick decision to leave on a plane to Madrid the following morning. A year has passed since then. One long and eventful year. Maidan is one of those events that seems very far away and long ago and also like it just happened yesterday. As the war in the east rages on every day and the official death toll approaches 6,000, it’s sometimes hard to remember the day when one person dying on Maidan was cause for national outrage. The world, and especially Ukraine, has changed so very much in the last year.

Today marks 10 weeks since I flew back home after my nearly two years living in Ukraine. That day is a bit like Maidan…it seems very far away, but also like I’ve only been in Nashville for a blink of an eye. This past week, Nashville was covered in ice and I was stuck in my house. I missed the days of taking the subway to the city and mostly using my two feet to get where I needed to go. Most days, Ukraine seems far away with moments every so often that take me right back to my life there. I am often encouraged via Facebook posts to see local churches and Ukrainians continuing to serve the orphan population of Ukraine and care for those sweet children. Although I don’t see moving back anytime soon, I’m hopeful that a visit is in store for me at some point.

Life in Nashville has been full of adjustments, none too large or overwhelming, but difficult nonetheless. (Target can still send me into a panic on the wrong day) But, I’m thankful for a roof over my head and a borrowed car. I’m searching for work in a competitive job market, but am hopeful the right job and career is out there for me. I’ve been thankful to reconnect with friends and spend time (thought not nearly enough) with my dear nephew. I felt a bit like I left all my HH in Ukraine followers hanging, but just wanted to put a note out there to say hello. The re-entry process can be tiring and I often have trouble collecting my thoughts enough to write a blog. I’m trying to go back and write down memories. Whether from camps or daily life in Ukraine or trips to Europe, there are so many experiences I don’t want to forget.

A genuine thank you once again for all your support, financial and otherwise the past two years. Continue to pray for Ukraine, for its people, for its economy, and for its orphans.

HH (in America)

Leave a comment