Wonder

I’ve had several moments over the past week where life just kind of hits me in the face. Moments where I open my eyes and realize I’m sitting at a quaint cafe in Western Ukraine as people sip on espresso and smoke outside. Where I realize I’m walking up a cobblestone street with friends that’s been there for hundreds of years. Where I actually look up from my phone as we cross the river on the metro and see the sunset over the Mother Motherland statue.

Where am I?

Because honestly, life becomes usual anywhere you live. I know most of my friends back home see me out on this great adventure over here in Ukraine. But most of the time, I see life as life and not much of an adventure. I work, I see friends, I make food, I grocery shop, I buy toilet paper. Yes, even on great adventures you still have to buy toilet paper.

Kiev becomes typical life. Kiev becomes normal life. Kiev becomes home. Yes, I am homesick (quite a lot recently) and most of the time long for a place where I can actually communicate with the lady behind the counter at the grocery store (I’ve eaten significantly less lunch meat here because of this). But in most regards, I don’t wake up every morning amazed that I’m living on the other side of the world from where I grew up.

Today, our first Americans arrive here in Kiev. Over the last several weeks, we’ve The Lord managed to put together a team of Americans to teach at our English Language Camp…because let’s be honest, what is an English camp without English speakers? I am excited for many reasons to welcome these folks to Kiev, but one of my favorite parts of having Americans here is to see the wonder as they experience Ukraine for the 1st time (or 2nd or 3rd in many of their cases). I think it helps me remember the beauty of this place I’m living. Helps me to understand how special an opportunity this is.

I also spent last week at two different orphan camps in Kharkov and Poltava. As always, it was a solid time with our local church teams and some truly delightful orphans. Missing those camps for sure.

Please pray for our team, for our upcoming camp, and for me to maybe experience a little more of the unique life that I have the chance to live. Love to you all.

 

Leave a comment