I left my heart in Kharkiv

For those of you that know my story, you know that my first (6) trips to Ukraine were made with the goal of visiting orphans in and around the city of Kharkiv. Kharkiv is the 2nd largest city in Ukraine with around 2 million people there. It was the first capital of Ukraine and has a beautiful downtown area and football stadium. But none of that really matters. Kharkiv for me is all about relationships. Since 2009, I’ve had the absolute privilege to form and build relationships with that amazing group of kids we met so long ago. Those kids changed me. The Lord used them, their voices, their hearts to change my life. I’ve gone to Camp AIST, the orphan camp we work in, outside of Kharkiv for the past 5 summers. Even before living in Ukraine, camp was a very consistent part of my life. I can say with certainty, I feel more at home on that camp territory than anywhere else in this world. It is home. It is rich with memories (both difficult and beautiful).

I’ve talked so much about Kharkiv on this blog. In the past year, here and here and honestly, most of my blogs mention it at some point. Since 2012, I’ve had the absolute pleasure of working with folks from one of the local churches there. For years before, those of us that went to camp there longed for the kids to have some kind of community. I dreamed of finding a place for these kids to be accepted and cared for. In 2012, we saw that become a reality when Radooga came alongside a local church who have far exceeded any of my hopes for community for the kids. Specifically, the youth pastor and his wife have really committed their lives to serving orphans and orphan graduates. They are a beautiful example for me of a humble, gracious, servant-hearted marriage focused on whatever God has next for them. Over the past two years, I have been blessed with amazing friends in Kharkiv and feel welcomed and cared for in their church community.

Fast forward to Spring 2014. After months of protests and violence in Kiev, Crimea was annexed into Russia. Not long after, “pro-Russian separatists” began appearing in the 3 Eastern regions of Ukraine: Donetsk, Luhansk, & (you guessed it) Kharkiv). I was in the US at the time and sat horrified watching the news as the Crimea situation seemed to be playing itself out yet again in the Eastern part of Ukraine. But as the days went on, the people (and apparently government) in the Kharkiv region stood up and the separatists were pushed out. The Ukrainian flag flew once again on top of government buildings. Friends from our local church partner as well as other Christians gather every morning (EVERY morning) at 7:00am downtown for prayer. They have been doing this for months. I am humbled and inspired by their dedication and belief that in the midst of these days, turning to the Lord is best. As the days and weeks went by and the situation deteriorated in Donetsk and Luhansk, I was proud of my Kharkiv that more yellow and blue began appearing and the people stood up declaring they were proud to be Ukrainians. I will readily admit I don’t have experience or a complete understanding of the political situation here, and maybe Kharkiv was never part of the plan. But from the actions at the beginning of April, it appeared these pro-Russians were attempting the same takeover in all three regions, but only succeeded in two. It looked like Kharkiv was “part of the plan,” but of course, who knows what the plan really was.
Now, as life in Donetsk and Luhansk is dangerous and unpredictable, I thank my God for peace in Kharkiv. I thank my God my friends there aren’t under a curfew and fear for their safety after dark.

I had drafted the first few lines of this post probably 2 or 3 weeks ago and never finished it. But, today, circulating on Facebook are photos of a pastor from the Donetsk region after being captured and beaten by pro-Russian separatists. He is bloodied and bruised. The prayer tents in these cities have been destroyed and burned and Christians are definitely facing persecution as a result of the situation. As I looked at these horrific images, my eyes filled with tears imagining Pastor Slava or Slavik or any of the other leaders from the Kharkiv church in this situation. It wouldn’t have been outside the realm of possibility and I thank God that so far, they have been allowed to pray and gather. The violence continues today as a Ukrainian military helicopter was shot down in the Donetsk region a little over 100 miles from Kharkiv. Today, I was reminded of my incredible thankfulness that Kharkiv remains quiet.

I am still unsure whether or not I will be able to travel to Kharkiv for camp this summer because of the nearby unrest in neighboring regions. Yet again, it will be one of those decisions made in the 11th hour as so many decisions have been this year. When I think about not going to camp, I am obviously heartbroken. I long for my 6th summer in the place that I call home. But God knows. God knows what is ahead for Ukraine and Kharkiv and Donetsk and Luhansk. So, I sit here attempting to trust and wait and pray and trust and wait. Pray for Ukraine, today and always.

Some patriotic Kharkivians

Some patriotic Kharkivians

City sign gets some Ukrainian flair

City sign gets some Ukrainian flair

In Freedom Square in downtown Kharkiv

In Freedom Square in downtown Kharkiv

Leave a comment